To complete a vehicle registration renewal in Georgia, you must pay various fees to the Department of Revenue. These may include but are not limited to: the standard renewal fee, emissions inspection charges, local taxes, convenience fees and penalties (if applicable). Additionally, if you choose to renew your car registration through our service, you will need to pay an agency fee.
Learn more about these fees below.
In order to renew your license plate registration for a passenger vehicle or a lightweight pickup, you must pay a registration/renewal fee of $20. If you drive a vehicle that is not a regular passenger car or pick-up truck, your renewal fee will vary.
If your county requires that your vehicle undergo an emissions inspection, you will need to pay the inspection fee when you take your vehicle in for the test. This fee will vary for drivers based on their county of residence.
When you renew your car registration in Georgia, you must pay certain taxes and convenience fees, depending on your county and situation.
If you fail to renew your license plate registration by the time indicated on your documents, you will also be asked to pay late fees. These include a 10-percent ad valorem tax and a 25-percent license plate renewal fee.
The ad valorem penalty has a minimum charge of $5.
This site charges an agency fee of $39.99 to process your online transaction with the state on your behalf. This fee is not required and will not be assessed if you choose to renew your vehicle through the official state portal. There are valuable benefits associated with this fee, including bonus coupons, accessible email support, error-free processing, and much more. We also guarantee your satisfaction, so if you have any questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact us.